ic_search Created with Sketch.

Young Journalist of the Year to receive JNI fellowship

The Kennedy Foundation and the Judith Neilson Institute have announced a new partnership in supporting the Kennedy Award for Young Journalist of the Year.

The Kennedy Foundation has welcomed the ongoing support of the Judith Neilson Institute, which is partnering with the NRMA Kennedy Awards to promote excellence in journalism for a second year.

Foundation Chairman Rocco Fazzari said the Judith Neilson Institute and the Kennedy Foundation shared a vision for securing the future of journalism by recognising the work of the news media’s rising stars.

“In times of dramatic and often traumatic change in the industry, it’s vital to acknowledge and indeed champion the efforts of a new generation of outstanding  journalists,” Mr Fazzari said.

“The Kennedy Awards celebrates the achievements of the industry’s greats, but it is just as important to support those young journalists who aspire to follow in the footsteps of their mentors.”

Fellowship opportunity

The Young Journalist of the Year, for journalists yet to turn 27 before June 30, will receive a prize of $5,000 and will have the opportunity to participate in one of the Judith Neilson Institute’s fellowship programs.

Uncovering the truth about important issues in the Hunter

The Institute’s Executive Director Mark Ryan said the award was a chance to recognise and encourage the hard work of young journalists.

“Giving this year’s winner the opportunity to join our fellowship program will help them further develop the skills and knowledge they need to become an even better journalist.”

The award will be presented by Trent Dalton, a three time winner of the Kennedy Award for Outstanding Feature Writing and bestselling author of the novel Boy Swallows Universe.

Mr Fazzari said Trent was an inspiration to young journalists.

“Trent Dalton has written his way into Australian journalism history as the preeminent feature writer of his time — and shines a very bright light for those young writers aspiring to follow in his footsteps,” Mr Fazzari said.

“The presentation of the Young Journalist of the Year Award is bound to be among the highlights of the gala presentation and once again we thank the Judith Neilson Institute for making this possible.”

The Institute’s support follows its significant investment last year in the Chris Watson Award for Outstanding Regional Newspaper Reporting which has funded the Newcastle Herald’s investigative reporting series, ‘Your Right to Know‘.

How to enter

Entries for this year’s NRMA Kennedy Awards have been streaming in since the May 11 opening date and the Kennedy Foundation, which stages the annual awards, is keen for last year’s record for entries to be challenged in 2020.

Entries of work from the current financial year are due to be submitted by 6:00pm Wednesday, July 1.

Registration can be completed via www.kennedyawards.com.au. Entrants should submit their entries, a 400 word supporting statement and a head shot to: kennedyawardsjudging@gmail.com

For Journalist of the Year, Best Columnist, Political Reporting, Young Journalist of the Year and Racing Writer, you are able to enter a body of work up to a maximum of five pieces under a single $50 entry. For all other entries, competing against one’s self is allowed and an entry fee is applicable for each item of work submitted.

About the Kennedy Awards

The Kennedy Awards for Excellence in Journalism, was named in honour of the late Sydney crime reporter Les Kennedy and recognise Australia’s finest media professionals and those who have put so much back into the industry.

The awards are supported by the Kennedy Foundation, supporting media professionals facing hardship with compassion in confidence.